D2L
SLJ SummitFederal LegislationState LegislationPennsylvania InfoSchool Library Impact Studies 101Recent Research & StatisticsStakeholdersFederal Budget 2012-13Advocacy Videos & MoreParentsState Websites
Role of the Sch Librn
Research and citation aids
Mod 3 & 4Selection Tools
School Library JournalsScholarship StudentsGrantsTech Journals & Blogs
PRAXISKeeping CurrentJob-Related IssuesProfessional DevelopmentPA Grads
State Guidelines and Doc'tsPreserving the Oral Tradition
A - FG - LM - RS - Z
From AASL
This is the "About SL&IT" page of the "Mansfield University School Library Department" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mansfield University School Library Department   Tags: mansfield, school libraries  

LibGuides for graduate courses in the School Library & Info Technologies School of Mansfield University (PA)
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://libraryschool.libguidescms.com/Mansfield Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About SL&IT Print Page
  Search: 
 

Information for Prospective Students

 

ALA/AASL Standards for School Librarians

This graduate program is continually revised to better meet the 2010 version of ALA/AASL Standards for Initial Preparation of School Librarians. These Standards outline what you will learn and be able to do upon completion of Mansfield's Master of Education in School Library & Info Technoogies degree.

Complete Standards with rubrics, supporting research, and references 

School Library Certification & Requirements

 

Printing Tip (save money$$$)

Here is a tip for you to save money on printer cartridges-use the draft or economy mode to extend the life of your ink.

Each manufacturer might call this option something different, such as Fast/Economical Printing.  The print quality may not be as glossy or slick as a normal print job, but it will be useable and print faster in less time.

To find out if your printer supports this feature, click Print (not the Quick Print) to view print options.  Click Properties or Print Preferences. Chnage the    print quality or mode to draft/economy or something similar.

New Resources for Federal Financial Aid

The toolkit is a searchable database intended for use by organizations and individuals who assist students making financial preparations for postsecondary education. Includes updates on FAFSA and loan repayment.

 

School Library & Info Technologies 2013 Program Brochure

 

Official School Library & Information Technologies Web Pages

The main website for the Mansfield University's School library & Info Technologies Graduate School can be found at:  http://sl-it.mansfield.edu/

Are you interested in taking courses? Information for prospective students can be found at: http://sl-it.mansfield.edu/prospective-students/index.cfm

If you are a current student, go to:  http://sl-it.mansfield.edu/current-students/index.cfm

 

Webinar - Library Resources for Online Students from the North Hall Library @ Mansfield University

Sheila Kasperek, Reference and Electronic Resources Librarian, North Hall Library, introduces you to using the North Hall Library-borrowing books through interlibrary loan, accessing articles in electronic databases, using e-reserves, and ebooks and more.  It's only 15 minutes.  Please watch! More helpgul info on using the North Hall resources at http://mansfield.libguides.com/distance.

Another short video under 5 minutes, explains the "Everything Search" to search books, databases, and more.

There are a number of library videos available at http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQG7kZTmgZPbAuULosN-k-A with more being added each semester. You will find these videos extremely helpful in completing the assignments.

 

Helpful Video Tutorials

The following narrated videos offer tips and tricks for various skills covered in LSC 5540, Information Searching, Retrieval, and Presentation Strategies. 

  1. EBSCOhost Searching

    Author-Title Searching (Jan. 2012)

    Basic Searching (Sept. 2010)

    My EBSCOhost (Jan. 2012)

    Search Tools (Jan. 2012)

    Thesaurus (June 2011)

  2. Google Search Tips (Jan. 2012)

  3. PowerPoint Touch Up

    Part 1: Formatting and Jazzing Up Pages (Oct. 2011)

    Part 2: Transitions and Navigation (Oct. 2011)

 

StudentAid.gov

Department of Education Launches New Student Aid Website
The U.S. Department of Education (USDOE) has launched StudentAid.gov, a new, streamlined Website that offers content and interactive tools, and features instructional videos and infographics to help answer frequent questions about financial aid. The Website is the initial step in a multi-phase project to offer a “one-stop shop” where consumers can access federal student aid information, apply for federal aid, repay student loans, and navigate the college decision-making process. The site is available in English and Spanish and fully accessible on smartphones and tablets. The department has also revamped its federal student aid-related social media sites, including Facebook, Twitter and YouTube to provide more options for students to learn about student aid.

 

SL&IT Graduates Rock the PRAXIS Test!

ETSThe PRAXIS II Library Media Specialist test administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) is taken by our graduate students if the state in which they seek school library certification or endorsement requires it. According to the ETS website, only 19 states require this test, including Pennsylvania. Passing scores vary from state to state. In Pennsylvania the passing score is 151; only three states have higher qualifying scores (Indiana-185, Kentucky-156, and Kansas-153). Check out our three-year track record. (Note: Most scores reported here primarily reflect Pennsylvania candidates.)

Page Editor

Profile Image
Deb Kachel
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
About Me:
Project Director, PA School Library Project, a statewide research study of school libraries and student achievement; Mansfield SL&IT Scholarship Director

North Hall Library Resources for Online Library Students

Using NoodleTools

Use this North Hall Library Database to help you cite sources in MLA format. 

Federal Student Loan Forgiveness

Student Loan Forgiveness Webinar Now Archived on AASL eCOLLAB
The archive of the webinar “Federal Student Loan Forgiveness and Cancellation Benefits for School Librarians” is now available to view as part of AASL’s professional development repository, eCOLLAB. Presented in collaboration with the American Library Association (ALA) Washington Office, the webinar archive features staff members from the U.S. Department of Education and a discussion of financial aid forgiveness programs available to school librarians. To view, visit www.ala.org/aasl/ecollab/student-loan.

Mansfield Technology Help

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip