This is the "Home" page of the "International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Law  

A reference guide to books dealing with many aspects of international law.
Last Updated: May 17, 2011 URL: http://libraryschool.libguidescms.com/international_law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internatinal Law Reference Books

Cover Art
International Law: A Dictionary - Boleslaw A. Boczek
Call Number: KZ1161 .B63 2005
ISBN: 0810850788
Provides the basic outlines of International Law in both encyclopedic and textbook form. Contains abbreviations, Latin phrases, and acronyms.

Cover Art
Blackstone's International Law Documents - Malcolm D. Evans
Call Number: KZ64 .B53 2009
ISBN: 0199560323
"Specifically designed for students," this book contains a number of international law documents, especially from various United Nations bodies. New to this edition: the Montevideo Convention of the Rights and Duties of States.

Cover Art
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (e-edition) - John P. Grant and J. Craig Barker
Call Number: KZ1161 .P37 2009
ISBN: 0379214490
Provides a comprehensive overview of international law terms and concepts. Not only provides a definition, but also a context for the term. Also provides citations to related cases and documents.

Cover Art
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest
Call Number: K526.5 .M37 2006
ISBN: 1561606936
Outlines basic law and statutes for numerous countries. This is the quick reference to the laws of individual countries, in English.

Cover Art
Martindale-Hubbell international law directory
Call Number: K68 .M37 2007
A directory of lawyers and other law related contact information for all continents.

Cover Art
The handbook of International Humanitarian Law - Dieter Fleck
Call Number: KZ6471 .H36 2008
ISBN: 0199573166
An edited volume containing the history and development of International Humanitarian Law. Covers a variety of contexts from the sea to the protection of the wounded and sick.

Cover Art
International Law: Selected Documents - Barry E. Carter, Phillip R. Trimble
Call Number: JX68.I4994 1995
ISBN: 0316130338
A casebook of international law. Updated every two years. See different editions for new developments in international law for that year.

 

Credo Reference

Search Credo Reference


Search a number of encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference materials for topics in international law.

International Law Websites

  • UN International Law
    The UN portal to all aspects of international law. Organized by body and thematic issues, this is the ideal site to gain an overview of international law and its governing bodies.
  • United Nations Charter
    A link to the core documents that form the basis of international law.
  • Geneva Convention
    The conventions and protocols at the core of international humanitarian law. Contains law regulating the conduct of armed conflict and the protection of civilians and other non-combatants.
  • International Criminal Court
    Created by the Rome Statute, the ICC is an independent international court, "established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community."
  • International Court of Justice
    The ICJ is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. The court settles legal disputes between member states. The court is seated at the Hague, Netherlands.
  • International Law Commission
    The Law Commission of the United Nation, "shall have for its object the promotion of the progressive development of international law and its codification." At this website find updates, reports, and analysis of the activities of the Commission.
  • Universal Decleration of Human Rights (1948)
    The text of the "milestone" document that "sets out, for the first time, fundamental human rights to be universally protected."
  • Convention on the Rights of the Child
    Documents, summaries and analysis of this legally binding convention on the rights of Children can be found at this UNICEF website.
 

World Trials

World Trials
In addition to trial transcripts HeinOnline's World Trials Collection also includes monographs that analyze and debate famous trials, as well as biographies of some of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
Access to World Trials
 

Oxford Reports on International Law

Oxford Reports on International Law
Contains: Oxford reports on international law in domestic courts, Oxford reports on international courts of general jurisdiction, Oxford reports on international criminal law, Oxford reports on international human rights law.
Access to Oxford Reports on International Law
 

Foreign Legal Periodicals

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
"Indexes articles as well as book reviews from more than 450 legal periodicals, including journals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports from 1985 to the present. The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals covers international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth."
Access to Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (on campus only) (Limited access, please Logout when finished)
 

Penrose Search

Search Encore

Search Peak for more books on international law.

 

International Law e-books

Cover Art
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law - RĂ¼diger Wolfrum
Call Number: E-Reference - KZ1160
ISBN: 262681787
Originally a German language encyclopedia, this online resource is a "comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law."

Cover Art
The Ashgate Research Companion to Modern Warfare - George Kassimeris and John Buckley
Call Number: E-Reference - U42 .A84 2010eb
ISBN: 075467410X
Though covering many aspects of modern war, chapters on international and humanitarian law are included in Part III, "Morality and the Law."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives - David S. Clark, editor
Call Number: E-Reference - K583 .E53 2007eb
ISBN: 9781849725590
Covers international law from multidisciplinary perspectives including, sociology, criminology, psychology and economics. Accessible through the Credo Reference search box as well.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Conflict Resolution - edited by Douglas H. Yarn
Call Number: E-Reference - KF9085.A68 D53 2002b
ISBN: 9781849720298
Deals with international dispute resolution and arbitration.

Cover Art
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History - Stanley N. Katz, editor in chief
Call Number: E-Reference - K50 .O94 2009eb
ISBN: 9780195336511
Covers the history of the development of law from an international and interdisciplinary perspective.

Cover Art
The Ashgate Research Companion to ethics and international relations - edited by Patrick Hayden
Call Number: E-Reference - JZ1306 .H39 2009eb
ISBN: 9781849728164
Examines international relations from an ethical perspective. Includes extensive commentary on issues of justice, human rights, environment, refugees, and other topics covered by international law.

Cover Art
History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide - Sonia G. Benson, Nancy Matuszak, and Meghan Appel O'Meara, eds
ISBN: 0787691593
Presents in-depth background to current conflicts appearing in the headlines. Specifically, contains a discussion about the effectiveness of the International Criminal Court.

Cover Art
Semiotics of International Law: Trade and Translation - Evandro Menezes de Carvalho
Call Number: Internet - K213 .C37 2011eb
ISBN: 9048190118
Analyzes international law from the standpoint of language, symbology and culture.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement - Larry Sullivan, general editor
Call Number: E-Reference - HV7921 .E53 2005eb
ISBN: 9781849725712
Contains information on all aspects of law enforcement. Includes a chapter on international law enforcement.

 

UN Treaty Collection

United Nations Treaty Collection
To begin, click the "Access to Databases" link at the bottom of the initial page. Major sections of this collection include Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, United Nations Treaty Series (14 December 1946 - recent), League of Nations Treaty Series (5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944), and Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties.
Access to United Nations Treaty Collection
 

Search UN Documents

AccessUN
Index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Full-text of several thousand UN documents is included.
Access to AccessUN
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip
Close
More Information