what is crowd sourcing
Links that explain crowdsourcing.
Crowdsourcing article from Wikipedia
Crowdsourcing a 2 minute YouTube video using animation and humour to explain crowdsourcing.
Crowdsourcing book trailer video for Jeff Howe's book called "Crowdsourcing. Why the power of the crowd is driving future business."
Blogs and Articles About Crowd Sourcing
The Rise of Crowdsourcing by Jeff Howe The original 2006 article from Wired Magazine about crowdsourcing.
Crowdsourcing Website Launches 'Fairer, Better' Crowdsourcing Model. PR Newswire. (July 15, 2010)A newspaper article about a new model for crowdsourcing.
Welcome
Welcome to this Libguide on crowdsourcing.
The definition of crowdsourcing as proposed by the author of the phrase Jeff Howe "is the act of taking a job traditionally performed by a designated agent (usually an employee) and outsourcing it to an undefined, generally large group of people in the form of an open call." http://www.crowdsourcing.com/cs/2009/01/index.html
Subject Terms to Search for Crowd Sourcing
Click-workers, Collective intelligence, mass collaboration, folksonomies, tagging, wisdom of the crowd.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Databases and Reference Resources
International Encyclopedia of Social & Behavioral Sciences(editors N. J. Smelser, James Wright, P. B. Baltes). A modern26 volume encyclopedia that covers all subjects relating to social and behavioral sciences.
SocINDEX with Fulltext A comprehensive database on sociology that includes ariticles and informaion on social media and crowdsourcing. http://library.apsu.edu/inform/EBSCO/21SocIndex.htm
Academic Search Complete. An interdiscipinary database that searches a large number of sources. A good database to find information on crowdsourcing and related topics.

Loading...
