This guide will provide information on the subject of sex. The subtopics included: sex health and education; sexual conditions/STDs; sexual orientation; sexual adnormalities; and a sex glossary. As well as additional sex resources.
This section will provide information about sexual abnormalities such as sex addiction, gender identity disorders, and paraphilias.
- Sex Addiction
The above URL is from WebMD providing information about sex addiction, its signs, behaviors and treatment. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
- Gender Identity Disorder
The above URL is from PubMed Health providing information on Gender Identity Disorder. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
- Sexual Paraphilia
The above URL is from ALL Psych, virtual psychology classroom. It provides a brief definition of paraphila, as a list of sexual paraphilia. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
Information about sexual orientation in regards to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT).
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender(LGBT)
The above URL is from Wikipedia providing information on LGBT. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy providing detailed information about the term "homosexuality" and extensive information in its content.
The URL describes the who/what and stages of bisexuality as described by a Nurse/conselor in Berkeley, California.
The above URL is American Psychological Association. Because I want a online source defining the term 'transgender', I felt that APA defined the term accurately. Additional informaton provided in the pop-up window.
This section will provide information about sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), infertility, and impotency.
- Sexually Transmitted Disease (STDs)
This website is the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
The above URL is from PubMed Health which provides overview of infertility. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
The above URL is from WebMD providing information on Impotency/erectile dysfunction. Additional information in the pop-up window.
Information about reproductive anatomy, puberty and reproductive process, abstinence, contraception/safe sex, and intimacy.
- Reproductive Anatomy
The above URL provides detailed information about the male and female reproductive anatomy. Please see pop-up window for additional information.
- Puberty and Reproductive Process
This website provides information about the female reproductive system and puberty. The website included in the pop-window provides information about male reproductive system.
The above URL provides information on abstinence.
- Contraception and Safe Sex
The above URL provides detailed information on the topics of contraception and safe sex. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.
The above URL provides an overview of four phases of sexual reponse cyle. Additional information provide in the pop-up window.
This section will have different websites providing information as a sex glossary and/or sex dictionary.
- Sex Dictionary
After browsing over 25 pages of results from a Google search, I felt the URL above seemed to provide the most terms that appeared accurate; although, I am no sex expert on sex terms. Additional information provided in the pop-up window; I tried to choose the most informative websites and books.
- Electronic Journals
The above URL provides 32 results retrieved from San Jose State University, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr Library. The searched term used was "sex", under the "ejournals" tab, located inside the search box.
- Science and Sex [book]
Mary Roach is one of my favorite non-fiction authors. Her stories turned me out for the non-fiction genre. Mary has this wonderful way of combining sex, science and humor with her book Bonk. I recommended reading all four of her books.
- The Kinsey Institute
From the Kinsey Institute website, under 'about' section: "The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. For over 60 years, the institute has been a trusted source for investigating and informing the world about critical issues in sex, gender and reproduction."
- Sex Therapy
The above URL is from WebMD providing information about sex therpay. Additional information provided in the pop-up window.