This is the "Home" page of the "Visual Impairments" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to visual impairments, including information the anatomy of the eye, web resources, print resources, and information for those with visual impairments, their friends, family members and others in the community.
Last Updated: Dec 13, 2011 URL: http://libraryschool.libguidescms.com/visual_impairments Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources

  • American Optometric Association
    The national association for professions in the field of vision. Offers ways to search for Dr.'s, information on visual disorders and impairments, links to publications and so much more.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online
    The online version of Encyclopedia Britannica, with much information available without logging in. You can search by subject, keyword, or specific terms.
  • Medical Dictionary
    An online dictionary strictly for medical terms. Users can search by letter or by individual terms.
  • MedlinePlus
    Hosted by the National Institute of Health, allows users to search for information on medical conditions, terms, treatments and procedures. Offering a wealth of interaction tools including videos.
  • PubMed
    Database of hundreds of journals and publications related to the medical field. Articles date back to the 1960's. Users can search by journal, author, title, keyword, and a variety of other options to find articles about visual disorders.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Database of thousands of periodicals, journals, and other publications. Users can search for peer reviewed, full text, scholarly articles, and by title, author, publication, keyword to find information related to visual impairments.
  • Bibliography of Resources
    By visual disorder, an extremely in depth bibliography of research studies, peer reviewed literature and case studies.
 

Statement of Purpose

I work in the medical field, spending my days reading medical records and then taking the information I have been given in this medical jargon, and determining what this means in regards to work related activities. For example, can a person stand for 2, 4, 6 hours at a time, can they sit for 2, 4, 6 hours at a time; how many pounds can the person lift frequently and occasionally; can the person climb stairs or ladders; can the person squat, kneel, crouch, crawl; does the person have any communication or visual limitations; does the person have any environmental limitations.

Although having a rudimentary understanding of a variety of medical conditions and how these conditions affect the body is crucial, even more importantly is knowing where to find the information. One of the most confusing body systems for us to rate in regards to work related activities, is that of the eye and visual disorders.

Disorders of vision can be caused by a variety of impairments and illness, from foreign objects embedded in the eye, to infections of the eye area, to other medical conditions such as Hypertension, Diabetes, and Multiple Sclerosis.

Along with knowing how a visual disorder affects an individuals ability to do work related activities, I also need to be aware of services available for individuals with visual impairments in the community.

Because visual impairments are one of the harder aspects of my job to understand, I decided to create a pathfinder that will help not only those with visual impairments, but family members, friends and others in the medical and educational fields find some basic information, and be guided to more indepth information.


Contact Information

Profile Image
Sarah Norton
Contact Info
Send Email
 

A Note on Searching Databases and Catalogues

Some helpful keywords when doing database or catalogue searches:

Visual Impairment

Vision Disorders

Blindness

Vision AND Disorders

Vision AND Impairments

-- The name of the impairment --

Visual Impairment AND Treatments

Eye Problems

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip